Scrapbooking · Uncategorized

Scrapbook Paper Envelopes

I have a ton of scrapbook paper, none of which I intended to use for scrapbooking.  I buy the individual pages when they go on sale, my son uses them to make collages and other paper and scissor crafts he comes up with.

I was on Pinterest again and ran across a pin for DIY envelopes.  They were so cute, my husband didn’t quite get it though.  You basically use an envelop to make an envelop.  If I am going to mail something why not put it in a super cute envelope instead of the boring plain white ones.

Here is a link to the pin or you can read on and I will tell you how I made them.

Step 1:

Carefully take apart an envelop that you like, it can be any style or any size just as long as you can fit it on the paper you want to use (you can also glue pages together but I haven’t tried that so I don’t know how well that will hold up).

The original envelope taken apart.
The original envelope taken apart.

Trace the original envelope on the patterned paper of your choice, do this on the white or wrong side of the paper to make sure your trace lines don’t show.

My trace lines on the white side of the butterfly paper.
My trace lines on the white side of the butterfly paper.

Then cut it out.

My butterfly envelope cut out.
My butterfly envelope cut out.

After that you are ready to fold the flaps up.  To do this you want to cut out a cardboard piece that is the same size as the original envelope.  This will help to ensure you get the right fold and everything will close up nicely.

Fold around the cardboard.
Fold around the cardboard.

Take out the cardboard and crease the flaps really good.  Glue the necessary flaps together and you’re done.

wpid-20141208_111825.jpgwpid-20141208_111844.jpgwpid-20141208_111850.jpgwpid-20141208_112008.jpg

I had fun making these and if you like them but don’t want to go through the tedious task of making them please stop by my shop and order some today!

https://www.etsy.com/shop/LoveMoandJo

2 thoughts on “Scrapbook Paper Envelopes

Leave a Reply

