Holiday · Uncategorized

Gifts From the Kid’s to Their Grandparents (DIY)

This year I wanted the kids to make a gift for their grandparents.  My son painted 2×2 canvases that I glued magnets too and my daughter is putting her hand print on a board that I painted.  The total Cost of two gifts for each of the 3 grandparents was only $18.  I thought this was a great price and I know they will love a hand made gift from them over anything store bought.

THE MAGNETS:

SUPPLIES:

  • 2×2 Canvases
  • Paint (I picked four colors for them both to use so the gifts would match)
  • Magnets to glue to the back
  • Black permanent marker
  • Hot glue gun
  • Hot glue sticks
  • Cute little fingers

PROCESS (my son did most of the work):

  • paint the background and sides of the canvas

wpid-20141222_135506.jpg

  • dip three fingers in paint and stamp on the canvas
  • once dry add in the features like buttons, eyes, mouth, and hat.

wpid-20141224_111117.jpgwpid-20141224_111108.jpg

  • glue the magnets to the back of the canvas (the canvases we bought did not have a flat back, so I filled the back half way with glue and dropped the magnet it, befor it could dry I turned it back over face up so it would not sink to the bottom.)

GIFT WRAP:

My husband picked up some gift bags from Hobby Lobby that my son could decorate for his grandparents, I wrapped the magnets is ribbon and dropped them in the bag.

wpid-20141224_110958.jpg

THE HAND PRINT POSTER BOARDS:

SUPPLIES:

  • Large poster board cut into thirds or a large canvas
  • Paint
  • Letter Stamps
  • Cute little baby hands

PROCESS:

  • I cut the board into thirds then painted the background


wpid-20141215_150937.jpgwpid-20141215_150924.jpg

  • I used the letter stamps I already had and stamped out the message “My Fingers My Be Small But I Can Still Wrap My Grandma And Grandpa Around Then”

wpid-20141215_150915.jpg

  • Once everything was all dry I painted my daughter’s hands and stamped them on the board (she had a blast with the blue paint on her hands)

wpid-20141225_145035.jpg

GIFT WRAP:

I just gently wrapped the boards up with tissue paper and stuck a To:/From: sticker with her name on it.

The kids really enjoyed making these gifts for their grandparents and we will likely do this every year.

 

Leave a Reply

