DIY

Easy No Sew Way to Reupholster a Children’s Chair

My son has a table and chair(2) set that my husband and I got for him years ago.  After a while one of the seats began to rip.

Easy No Sew Way to Re Fabric a Children's Chair

I promised my son for months that I would fix it and I finally did, I had to because the kids kept fighting over the “good” chair.

I had just got needles for my sewing machine but still need time to refresh my sewing skills, so I decided to take the No Sew approach.

What you will need:

  • Screw Driver
  • Fabric
  • Scissors
  • Glue Gun
  • Glue Sticks

Steps:

  1. I unscrewed the seat from the chair, I had to cut off some of the big pieces of plastic that were hanging off so they wouldn’t bunch up under the new fabric.                                                                              Easy No Sew Way to Re Fabric a Children's Chair
  2. I cut down this cool tie dye blue fabric to fit the chair with 2in extra on the sides and 3in extra on the top and bottom (my chair has these pieces of metal that stick out, they hold the screws that hold the seat to the chair).
  3. I cut 2 slits on both the top and bottom where these metal pieces stick out (this helps hold the fabric down tight during the hot gluing).                                                                                     
  4. I hot glued the top and bottom pieces (with the slits cut in them) down first.wpid-20150318_184204.jpg
  5. I folded the corner in on the sides then hot glued the sides down (this makes for a cleaner corner). wpid-20150318_184702.jpgwpid-20150318_184733.jpgwpid-20150318_185037.jpgwpid-20150318_185119.jpg
  6. I screwed the seat back into the chair.

It has been about 3 weeks since I put the new fabric this chair and it is holding together just nicely and my children are very happy (so am I no more fighting over chairs).

Reupholstered children's chair

Leave a Reply

