DIY

DIY Ready to go Frozen Smoothie Bags

I had seen this so many times, it seemed like such a convenient way to get in more fruits and veggies.

This will mostly be for the kids but if there is extra I will gladly drink it.  Jordan is at school 8 hours a day 5 days a week this is not way for me to make sure he is getting at least one serving of each during that time and Morgan only really eats peas unless I can hide it in the foods she will eat and it has to be good because she is starting to pick through her food.

I have made smoothies before but Jordan overheard that there would be veggies in it (same way I always make em) and didn’t want any.  Morgan I thought would love them she only drinks milk and water so a sweet drink would be a real treat for her.  Well the smoothie had the opposite effect on them.  Jordan loves them and asks for more and Morgan has only taken a few sips each time, I will keep working on her.

I kept the smoothies really simple.

Fruit used:

  • bananas
  • apples
  • mango
  • blueberries
  • avocado

Veggies used:

  • Spinach
  • cucumber

In one day cut all of the fruit and veggies  and put them into single serving bags in the freezer.

wpid-20150421_173111.jpgwpid-20150421_173117.jpg

Now they are ready to go when you are without having to do all that chopping each time.

I also added yogurt for protein and milk to thin it out and more protein as well.

I have been trying to make them daily but sometimes the day gets the best of us but I am trying to work this into our daily routine.  These smoothies have also served as a dessert for us which helps to cut out some unnecessary junk food and candy.

3 thoughts on “DIY Ready to go Frozen Smoothie Bags

Leave a Reply

