DIY · Planner

DIY Planner Daily Pages

I have decided to make my own planner for next year, so far I can tell it is going to take some time so I am glad I have started it now.  I of course want to use it now as well, but like I said before I don’t want to waste my money I already paid for my current planner and want to finish out the year in it.

Here are the daily pages I made for my 2016 planner.  I enjoyed creating/making these.  Once I had the page designed (all I needed was a section for To Dos and a section for notes about the day and any unused space can be used for doodling) I treated the production process like an assembly line, by doing one part for each page then moving on to the next part.  Doing it this way saved a lot of time because I wouldn’t have to constantly be having to clean stamps before I changed colors only to change back for the next page.

These pages were easy to make so I put together a little DIY if you want to make some for yourself or use it as a starting point for pages of your own.

Materials:

  • Mini one inch binder
  • Printer paper letter sized
  • Paper cutter
  • Single hole punch
  • Number Stickers
  • Small letter stamps
  • Ink pads
  • Scissors

Process:

  1. Make the template first. To do this you will first need to cut the letter sized paper (8×11) in half (4×5.5) this will fit nicely into your mini binder.
  2. Still working with the template line the page up with the rings on your binder and mark where you will need to punch holes so it fits perfectly in the binder where you want it to.wpid-20150514_113925.jpgwpid-20150514_113953.jpg
  3. Using a pencil and a paper cutter that has those helpful grooved lines, you will be drawing out the lines that will separate each section.  Draw a horizontal line 1 inch from the top of the page, draw another line 1/2 an inch under that. Draw a vertical line down the middle of the page starting under the top horizontal line, through the second and all the way down to the bottom of the page.  This is your temple.wpid-20150518_143451.jpg
  4. Transfer the template to the front of 16 half pages (this was for the pages I made for January 2016 there are 31 days {the front of 16 pages and the back of 15 pages} using the groves in you paper cutter.  This saves you a ton of time in having to measure the lines for each pages, you just trace over the lines and press lightly into the grooves to keep the line straight.  Another tip with this step is you can tape the template down so you don’t have to reline it up with the grooves every time or have to worry at it slipping a little causing the other line to be off a little.
  5. Flip over your pages and trace the line onto the back again using the grooves to ensure the lines are straight and even.  Now for the fun part.
  6. Now you can go through and label each section.  Again I did each step for all pages before moving on the to the next part, I also did the front of each page then went and did the back that way the front had time to dry before I flipped the pages.   I used my small letter stamps and ink pads here, you can use any size letter stamp that will fit into the space and you choice of ink color.
  • The top right corner is for the month, I just used the first three letter, and the number of the day under that (I used number stickers here).
  • On the left side right on the line I stamped in the day of the week.
  • Under that in the 1/2 inch section the Left side is for To Do and the right is Notes

wpid-20150429_093037.jpg

wpid-20150514_114303.jpgwpid-20150514_114337.jpgwpid-20150514_114554.jpg

So this is the basic daily page that I came up with, I will be putting together another post on how I decorated each page as well as the monthly calendars I am making next and dividers.

Thanks for stopping by I would love to know what you think of my daily pages and if you have made any type of planner pages yourself I would like to see them!

13 thoughts on “DIY Planner Daily Pages

  1. I find it helps me to put the template lines into a Word document (or other word processor) as a table, and print that. That way you don’t have to trace lines every time 🙂

    Like

  2. I have seen those. I have a large three whole punch that is not adjustable and a single hole punch right now I am happy with those but may splurge on an adjustable one in the next few months or better yet I can use my mom’s lol I just remembered she has one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

