crochet · DIY

DIY Toddler and Infant Leg Warmer Gift

I decided to also make some leg warmers for the toddler that Morgan and I nanny.  This was my last week with her, her parents are teachers and are off during the summer.  They are expecting a new baby girl in the fall so I thought it only right to make some for her as well.

Again the free pattern is here, but there isn’t an infant size so I had to get creative and make some adjustments in order for them to fit an infant.  What I was able to come up with would be a perfect fit for an infant.  I added an infant size for these leg warmers and a new color Pale Plum, this is the color I used for the leg warmers I made for the toddler I nanny, in my shop please check them out here.  Morgan and I will really miss her and I hope this gift will remind her and her family of us.

Toddler (pale plum) and Infant (off white) now available in my shop
Toddler (pale plum) and Infant (off white) now available in my shop

Here is what I did to make the infant size:

Materials:

  • Worsted Weight Yarn
  • 6.5 mm Crochet Hook

Process:

Note:  the pattern calls for a Foundation Single Crochet, I don’t know how to do that yet and will learn one day but for now I don’t mind starting with a chain.

  1. Chain 17.
  2. Round 1 Single crochet all the way down and slip stitch together. (16 stitches)
  3. Round 2 Chain 1 *single crochet in the next stitch, 3 double crochet bobble in the next stitch* repeat from * all the way around, join to the first single crochet. (16 stitches)
  4. Round 3 Chain 1, turn, Single crochet in the next stitch and all the way around. (16 stitches)
  5. Repeat round 2 and 3 five more times.  Note:  All bobble rounds after the first, Chain 1 and single crochet in the same stitch then 3 Double crochet in the next and continue the pattern like normal.

What have you crocheted lately?  Have you ever made adjustments to a pattern?  Did they turn out how you expected?

4 thoughts on “DIY Toddler and Infant Leg Warmer Gift

Leave a Reply

