DIY · Elementary School Days

DIY 3 Steps to a Neater Closet (Tackling My Son’s Closet)

Do you have a closet that is just out of control?  I do, well actually it’s my son’s closet.  He has toys, games, clothes, dress up clothes, and everything else that his sister is not supposed to get into.  His underwear/PJ drawer is overflowing, the clothes that are hung up are just as bad, everything is just stuffed in there.  There is so many toys and not enough drawers and shelving to hold it all, most of it has fallen on the floor.  I had to do something about this huge mess.

I don’t deep clean my son’s room as often as I would like to, but when I do I wait until he is not home.  I usually do the whole room, which takes about 1-2 hours depending on how long it has been since the last cleaning.  This time I just wanted to focus on the closet, it has just gotten out of control.

I started by taking out all of his winter shirts and pants, I usually leave them in until Fall when we try everything on to see if he can wear it another year, but I just couldn’t wait that long.  I took out everything I knew wouldn’t fit and the rest I stuck in a suitcase that is stored in my closet. I also went through his socks, underwear, and PJs and anything too small went in the donate bag and the fall/winter PJs got stored in the suitcase as well.

The other half of my son’s closet is toys.  I organized them as well as put up toys/games/puzzles that he is too old for but that can be kept for my toddler when she gets older.  i didn’t throw out too much here because we take care of our toys and games but a few of the puzzles did have missing pieces and were bent up so they had to go.

I rearranged the storage drawers he has in his closet to make it easier to get to and to make it look less cluttered.  With all the organizing I did I was able to consolidate all of the toys into one set of drawers the other set is going to be used for my paper crafting items, I have aquired a few too many new items to store them in what I was using before.

I know it may still look messy but you should have seen it before
I know it may still look messy but you should have seen it before
This side is basically our coat closet and where the other drawer set used to be, now he has room to play or store other stuff he doesn't want his sister in
This side is basically our coat closet and where the other drawer set used to be, now he has room to play or store other stuff he doesn’t want his sister in

In a nutshell you can follow these three easy steps to make any closet look neater while giving you better access to everything in it.

  1. Store out of season clothes in bins that can be put up on shelves or stored under the bed (that is what I do with my clothes) but in my son’s case I put this out of season clothes in a suitcase that was empty in my closet.
  2. Donate any and everything that is still in good shape but that you know you will never use/wear again.  Not only are you helping out your community but you are also making more room for either new stuff or just to make your space feel lighter.
  3. Rearrange any furniture or storage bins/drawers to make them more accessible.  Also if you are able try eliminating one or more, these pieces can be used in other rooms as needed or donated as well.

My motto is: The more stuff you are able to neatly hide away the better your space will look and feel.

Leave a Reply

