Toddler Days

Toddler Days

In my last Elementary School Days post I talked about how kids have it hard which you can read here. To some it up children just want to play and learn about the world but they are always on someone else’s time/schedule they don’t get to choose when, where, and how they want to play. This has to be very frustrating for any chiid.

I feel the same when it comes to toddlers and infants but their life just might be harder and more frustrating then an older child. Not only do they not have a choice in when, where, and how they play; they can’t even voice what they want.

My toddler is almost two and can talk pretty well but still struggles to tell us what she wants or needs. This is even worse when we are in the car. At home I can look at her to help me figure out what she wants, we can walk to another room where she can show me what she wants, I can even put her in a time out until she calms down to better tell me what she wants/needs. But in the car I can’t see her that well and without her body language it takes even larger to figure out what she is asking for, we can’t move around to get to what she wants if I can even figure that out, and she just hates being strapped down. I think she gets bored, hot, and restless. More often than not I pack a snack or milk to give her something to do but with that we run the risk of it dropping and me not able to get it back for her.

image

Can you relate? What troubles do you run ton in the car with your little toddler? What do you do to help make the ride better?

2 thoughts on “Toddler Days

Leave a Reply

