2015 Scrapbook · Drawing · Goals · Planner · Stitching

New Years Resolutions (Goals)

I don’t normally make New Years Resolutions, but this year I do have some goals that I would like to work toward.  These are all creative and business goals.  I am most happy when I am creating something, it doesn’t have to be anything big or anything that anyone will see it just makes me feel good.  I am even happier when I am able to make some money from the things I create, who doesn’t like to get paid to do the one thing they love most in the world.

So let’s start with my personal creative goals:

  1. I got a beautiful journal for Christmas from my husband (my favorite gift by far, he knows me so well, I love paper).  It is nice and thick I can’t remember how many pages but there is a lot.  I am going to use it as an art journal.  I had been telling my son to work on one for weeks, but he never really got into it, so I thought I would give it a go.  I found a list of 365 prompts, my goal is to complete all 365 but the end of the year.  I have already started and will share them later.  I am not going to do the one a day approach because that is just not practical for me.  When I am able to just sit and work on it, I will do as many as I can, and plan a day every few weeks to catch up.
  2. I am back cross stitching. YAY!  I finished page 16 which makes four completed pages (I am going down the left side first).  My goal is to finish one page a month, but not just on my current project.  A few weeks ago I entered a giveaway on my favorite cross stitch focused blog.  Waffu wanted to treat all of her readers and I was the lucky winner of a new chart from the Heaven and Earth Designs site.  I am going to start working on it next month and will rotate between the two monthly.  Completing 6 pages on each (hopefully) by the end of the year.
Now for creative/business goals:
  1. In 2015 I completed 6 orders on my Etsy shop. I know that does not sound like a lot but after being open for a year the 6 orders I got were all in the last 3 months.  This meant a lot to me because I really put in the work to prompt my products.  My goal this year is to double, not triple, maybe even quadruple those numbers.
  2. I mostly make inserts for Midoris, Fauxdoris, Paperdoris, etc.  My goal for this year is to add my own version of the Midori Travelers Notebook to my shop.  I of course will need to work on perfecting this before I am able to add it to my shop.  I would also like to make pretty things that can be used to decorate or personalize the covers and inserts that I will be selling in my shop. Link below if you would like to check out me shop.
  3. My blog and Instagram account (link below) are a big part of how I advertise my shop, connect with potential customers, and see what my competition is.  I want to get better are posting to my blog 3 times a week again (6 was just too much)  I want to share my daily life and crafts on my Instagram, it shows that I am human and am focused on my crafts and family not just about making money.
These are my goals for 2016, I hope you stick around to see me reach them.  A big thank you to all of my readers and followers, without you I would not have made it as far as I did last year, and won’t even come close to reaching my goals this year.
What are you goals or resolutions for the year, please feel free to list them below or better yet leave a link, I would love to check them out.
Leave a Reply

