Book Review

Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Yay, I am reading again!

I haven’t read anything other than children’s picture books in over a year.  With all these new movies coming out that are based off of books, I figured what better way to make a book selection, a preview is better than standing at a store or library reading the inside covers of every book, until you find one that you like.

With this view I will do my best to not spoil the book or movie if you choose to go see it instead of reading the book.
image

This book was written by Ransom Riggs an old photograph collector.  He originally wanted to make a picture book, but with advice from his editor decided to used the pictures as a guild to tell a story.  The photos in this book are authentic, so the inside cover says, I am not sure what authentic meant when these were taken or put together).  They are featured throughout the book, which I really enjoyed , of course I can picture how the characters look in my head but it’s also nice to see exactly what they looked like.

Now for the basics of this story.  Jacob, the main character, looked up to and adored his grandfather, who everyone else thought was a little crazy after the war.  He would tell Jacob stories of his childhood in an orphanage for peculiar children (children who could levitate, who had incredible strength, who could bring to life inanimate objects using the hearts of animals, who were invisible, etc.).  He would then go on to tell stories of monsters he is still running from who were threatening the lives of the peculiar children (his family thought they were enemies of war) turns out those monsters were real and when they finally do come after Jacobs grandfather, Jacob steps up to protect them.

My thoughts on the book:

This book was short and easy to read, I think it only took my 4 days.  It was a little dry/ boring in the beginning, but slowly picked up in the middle (there are a few unexpected twists that bring some interest to the story, but for some it may not be enough to keep the reading), and the last two chapters is where all the action is.  Normally with that slow of a start I would have just put the book down , but since I bought it I made myself get threw it.  There is a sequel to this book and even a third (that is either already out or will be soon).  I don’t think I will be reading the 2nd and 3rd book even though the ending leaves you hanging a bit.

If you or someone you know has read this book, please comment below.  I would love to hear your thoughts on this book.  I gravitate toward young adult fiction, so if you have any recommendations please leave them in the comments section as well.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

