DIY · Planner · Uncategorized

DIY Planner Charm Using the March Freckled Fawn Embellishment Kit (Giveaway)

I love planner tassels.  The way they hand over the planner, how they add a personalized touch, and all the endless color combinations that you can come up with to pair with you planner no matter what color or pattern you planner is.  I have a Raspberry A5 Filofax and the planner tassel I had on there was a baby blue that I received in a Planner Addict Box, and a small gray one that I made on my own (and still may be available in my shop, link in the menu above).

I think these tassels are made to be switched out often or to worn for a month or two.  Depending on how your planner is bound (I have a ring bound planner), the yarn will start to wear down and fray.  The ones I had on there were starting to fray and snag in my rings.  So it was defiantly time for something new, but I didn’t have anything to replace my current yarn tassels  So why not make a charm, those would probably last longer and I have the perfect item to dangle off a very inexpensive chain I was able to pick up at Walmart.

Look at the super fun yellow and orange resin stars.  I think they would look perfect with the purple of my Filofax.  These were very easy to make and can be pretty cheap if, like me, you already have charms on hand.  Let me stop my rambling and get on with the tutorial, this only took me about 5 minutes to make and was very easy.

Tools Needed:

  • Pliers
  • Chain in your choice of color and size ($3.22 for a pack of four at Walmart)
  • Hook Closers (this came with my chain as a set)
  • Split Rings (to easily attach the charms to the chain, $1.94 at Walmart)
  • Charms that coordinate with your planner or style (mine came from the March Freckled Fawn Kit)

Process:

  1. Attack charms to the spilt rings by inserting one end and twisting it until it is all the way on (just like putting your keys on a key ring). you want to do this with all the charms you plan on putting on the chain.
  2. image

  3. Attach the split rings with attached charms to the chain, by again inserting the end of the split ring into the ring on the chain and twisting until you get to the end.  I put one star on the last ring on the chain and spaced out the other stars by 3 rings.  You can add your charms in any order and space them out as far as you want.
  4. image

  5. Detach any access rings from your chain.  measure out how much chain you will need by holding the chain up to the ring you will attach it to and hang it over the side.  But before I removed the access rings from my chain I doubled the length.  I want one side to have charms on it and the other side to be just chain.
  6. Attach the hook closer to your chain at either the end, or if you want some extra chain to hang like me, attach it to the middle of the chain.
  7. Attach the hook closer to the actual rings of your planner and you are done.
  8. image

Lie I said this was easy to make and inexpensive, for about $5.00 I can make about 4-8 charms.  These are very customizable and can be mixed and match to fit your planner or your style.
image

I hope you found this tutorial as easy as I say it it and if you make once please tag me on Instagram (lovemoandjo) or share a link in the comments below.  If you have any comments or questions on this tutorial please put them in the comments section below.

Now for the giveaway:

I made an extra planner charm to giveaway to my followers, this will also be on my Instagram and YouTube channel but you only have to enter once either here or on one of the other sites.

This is open to the U.S. only (I hope to do more in the future and make them international). All you have to do is give this post a like and leave a comment below. It could be about this post, it could be some posts you would like me to do in the future, or you can simply say Hi.

This giveaway is open until May 18th and I will announce the winner on May 20th at which point I will get all the information on where to send this cute planner charm.

Good luck.

Leave a Reply

